top of page
  • Tejson Kunwar

What do I need to go Mountain Biking?


1. Mountain Bike

2. Protective Gear 3. Proper Shoes 4. Something to Eat and Drink

1. What makes a Mountain Bike a Mountain Bike?


First, we must know what a mountain bike is. There are many types of bicycles, and a mountain bike has special parts that keep you safe on the trail. These parts make mountain bikes tough enough to take falls and ride over rough terrain.

First, mountain bikes have proper shock absorbers called forks and shocks. There are also special mountain bikes called "rigid" that do not have shock absorbers, but they are rare and you must be very good to use them. Second, mountain bikes have grippy, fat tires with big knobs on it for good grip on the trails so you don't slip around. Third, mountain bikes have gears. These are the parts in between the pedals with "teeth" that the chain is attached to. As you are riding on mountains and uneven terrain, it is very hard to ride in the same gear. With different size gears, you can switch so it is easier to go uphill and you can go fast downhill. Of course, you also need breaks on both the front wheel and the back wheel of the bike.


2. What protective gear do you need?


Most important is proper helmet to protect your head. You will also need knee pads to protect your legs. You also need proper mountain bike clothing that is designed not to tear when you fall. You also need gloves to protect your hands from scratches on bushes and falls. Optional if you don't want to go blind, you can also use glasses or goggles to protect your face and eyes from flying debris. Also, if you are riding a very aggressive trail or jumping, then you can wear full body armor that also protects other parts such as the chest, back, and abdominal region.


3. What kind of shoes do I need for mountain biking? For mountain biking, it is preferred that you use shoes with flat soles. There are two main types of shoes; flats and clips. There are mountain bikers that like both. Flats are specially designed with thick rubber soles that do not tear and last a long time when you use them on the pedals and fall down. The second type is clip shoes that have a binding built into the sole that attaches to a clip on the pedal. These have stiff soles that do not move around when you are clipped in, for stability. To close the shoes, there are three main types of systems for closing your shoes. First, there are laces. These are traditional laces that you tie like casual shoes. The second type is Velcro, which is two strips that have hooks on one side and tiny "eyes" on the other, the two attach securely. The third type is shoes with a ratchet. These are mostly used by cross country riders. A ratchet is a plastic belt and clip; you pull the belt through and the clip locks onto it.

4. What do you bring with you to eat and drink while mountain biking?


When I go mountain biking, I try to bring something that is light but nutritious for the energy I need. Usually, this is power bars and small candies. Along with those I carry water inside of a hydration pouch that is inside of a backpack. I do not clip water onto my bike because it does not have a place to keep a water bottle. So, I have a bag that has a hydration pouch inside of it. When I am riding, I have my backpack on for a long ride. However, when we are having small sessions, then I take my backpack off. If I do not carry a backpack, I usually have power bars and extra food attached to my bike. I use tape to tie this onto my bicycle, and I tie everything on whenever I need it. This way it is secure on my bike and does not move around and fall off when I ride.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page